Heaven turned to Hell

So I realise now my antenna was malfunctioning this morning when I happily agreed to take the 2nd room I saw. I was just off a ghastly early flight from DrivetownSmog, err, I mean Delhi – not to mention the several Moscow Mules imbibed the night before with an exceedingly lively bunch of Swedish ex-pats! Well I did get amazing WiFi here and a delicious breakfast, all for a mere 500 rupee but not a wink of sleep has been had in this den of mine. You see I wanted to stay in the Old City here in Udaipur because I like to walk places. Unfortunately, the speeding motorbikes, auto rickshaws and cars all have to continually beep to warn tourists like myself of imminent death! Good God I’ve no idea what passed just now. It sounded like a giant lawnmower or perhaps it is because I haven’t slept. You see the engines subsided for a while about 2am and then the dogs started up again. I’m so spoiled in my quiet cul de sac in Dublin. Anyway, the moral of the story is there is no such thing as a relaxing chilled out wander through Udaipur Old City. It’s like Chandi Chowk has followed me from Delhi! Pichola lake is stunning and I had a fabulous sunset dinner. I guess if I had chosen a better room I might not hear the traffic but the dog howls are ubiquitous. You live and learn. Thus I’ve decided to leave this City of Lakes and go straight to that fancy safari camp hotel which was recommended to me earlier today by an Indian couple visiting from LA. At least there I’ll get a decent night’s sleep out in the quiet before I am devoured by a leopard or wolf the next morning.I’ll die a rested woman. 

I’ll leave you with some more detail from the impressive City Palace – I suppose worth a sleepless night to have seen it. By the way it’s 6.15am now and I just heard the call to prayer. Perhaps I should convert. 

Leave a Reply

