Shakil’s speedy tuc tuc view of Jaipur

I had one day really to get around Jaipur because I arrived late in the evening. Had no accommodation sorted but it was fine. Kukki from Bundi had called a friend in Jaipur and he recommended a couple of spots n Banni Park close to Pink City and the Bazaar. You’d need at least another day so you could spend a good bit of time up at the Amer Fort and Palace. I love Jaipur. This cool tuc tuc guy called Shakil picked me up at the bus station and drove me everywhere I wanted to go from Thursday night to Saturday afternoon. He is the business. If you go to Jaipur, call him and ask him to pick you up at your hotel. The best way to see Jaipur is from the back of his dilapidated tuc tuc! I’ll add his number ASAP. Ill also put in info on hotels and restaurants when I get a chance. Shakil’s English isn’t great but he gets by having never gone to school at all. You’ll figure it out on the phone but he’ll understand the name and address of your hotel or put the concierge on to him. In person then, you can figure out your itinerary. He’s a great guy. He took me to the Monkey Temple, Amer Fort, the Elephant Village, to a henna woman, Albert City Museum, some amazing craft showrooms and for great breakfasts of samosa and chai each morning for breakfast and to tourist restaurants with great WiFi for lunch. He even waited for me at the bus stop and took me to buy oranges and bananas for the journey. Call Shakil (photographed here) in Jaipur 91.7062957104

Leave a Reply

